Skip to content

Aspire One – Wireless Problems with fix..

October 31, 2008

Hey guys,

Earlier, my internet stopped working completely on my newly acquired aspire one, I was so angry, it even disappeared from my device manager, even after a reboot, it wouldn’t come back.

I guess I was so angry/frantic that I didn’t think of searching for a fix on my desktop haha..

What seemed to work for me was downloading the newest wireless drivers for it and chucking them on a flash drive and installing.

But I also flashed the newest bios update onto it, so I’m not sure if it was the Wireless drivers or the Bios flash, but I’d suggest doing both to anyone having this problem.

I’ve posted a how to on flashing the Aspire One’s bios easily here, it can be done by anyone. 

It was a really fast and painless operation.. Once I’d read a blog about how to do it, Acer doesn’t include any help to flash it, they just tell you to boot off of a usb stick, which is really hard to set up if you don’t know what you’re doing.. They should include some better documentation, as this was a big update which was CRITICAL to the running of the netbook.. Eh, I can dream..

The bios flash also fixed an issue I had with the screen flickering when on low brightness settings, hopefully I’ll notice a bit of a difference in battery life with it aswell =].

Thanks for reading.

~4zzdawg

11 Comments leave one →
  1. karen permalink
    November 5, 2008 7:00 am

    hi there, I was just searching the web for any info about wireless problems with the acer aspire one…it is working for me but rather spasmodically. Once I eventually get a website open such as a bank site, and try to proceed to the log in page/link, I continously get the message ‘internet explorer cannot display the webpage.’ I have tried diagnosing the problem and the report always says the connection is fine but it could not connect through a FTP setting or something of the like. I am a complete cavewoman when it comes to computers and am at a loss about what to do…do you have any suggestions or should I just hand it over to someone who knows what they are doing? Any advice is more than welcome and appreciated.
    Regards
    karen

  2. paul permalink
    November 14, 2008 8:23 am

    Hey Karen,

    I have been having a few issues as well. My first suggestion is:

    Go to Start menu

    Go to Control Panel

    Click (on left) show classic view (if it isn’t already showing)

    Double click on System

    Go to the Hardware tab

    Click on Device Manager

    Click on the + next to Network adapters

    Double click on the Atheros one

    Go to the Advanced tab

    Click on Power Save Mode

    A drop down appears to the left. Change it from “Maximum” to “Off”

    Click ok.

    Close the device manager and control panel.

    Try your internet again.

    I will keep searching for a solution, but this helped me significantly. Not perfect yet.

    Paul

  3. Samuel permalink
    November 23, 2008 6:28 am

    Hey man, thanks for the solution, i solved my WLL trouble this way

    Best regards

    Samuel

  4. Bethany permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:36 pm

    Hi, I recently ordered an Aspire One netbook online. I’ve seen a lot of complaints online about its wifi capabilities and itunes downloads. This really worries me because I bought the computer mainly for music and internet use. Are the rumors true? I know absolutely nothing about technology… so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

  5. 4zzdawg permalink*
    January 14, 2009 1:08 pm

    Hey there,

    I’m not sure about generally speaking, but my A1′s Wifi is good enough. I have a fairly large home, and it never gets below average signal.
    I’m not sure about iTunes downloads or anything like that, but I use Youtube quite a bit on there, and the speed is far beyond what you need to fluently watch a video, I can stream a video, and it will be done, before I’m halfway through watching it, so I’m assuming itunes would be fine.

    That’s just my opinion though.

    Good luck!

  6. Mike D permalink
    April 3, 2009 3:26 pm

    Well my mother already had the 1st generation Acer Aspire One (the first color that arrived.. blue). That laptop had zero problems with the wireless. Keep reading, this gets interesting:

    I will start with a bit of history. I have been a computer technician and network engineer for 18 years now. I.e. I do have the know-how to troubleshoot.

    Anyway, my Mother decided to go for the latest Acer Aspire One. This is the red model with the 10.1″ screen. Get this, her original (I call it 1st gen) Aspire One has the exact same wireless card as well as the exact same wireless card driver as this new Aspire One. Interesting that Acer has not bothered to ship their latest netbooks with the latest drivers.

    Well… her first red Aspire One that she bought yesterday had serious issues with the wireless card not holding a connection. The connection icon in Windows shows the wireless is connected, however, there is no network connectivity with the wireless router. Pinging the gateway fails.

    She took that one back and exchanged for an exact model, red, etc.

    This time I unboxed it, removed the McAfee garbage that it comes installed with, etc. etc.. I managed to get about 15 minutes of web surfing before the exact same wireless connection issues arrived.

    Now by connection I mean the wireless card stays connected to the router through the G protocol. The IP settings stay intact in Windows, however pinging the router fails. A repair of the wireless card will reinitiate the connection to the Internet. It soon drops all routing within 3 minutes.

    I managed to get the wireless adaptor to hold it’s network connection by manually entering the IP address, subnet mask, gateway and DNS. This only worked long enough for me to download the updates from Microsoft’s website. I was hoping that the Windows updates might (key word is might…when troubleshooting one has to try everything) resolve the issues.

    Alas, updating did not work. The manual IP entries failed.

    I managed to find a few older drivers. Then I ran across this driver. I was very very wary because the latest driver I could find, 7.6.1.184 11/05/08 was on a website in the Czech Republic.

    Here I am thinking …’great, it’s probably a trojan just waiting for some sucker to download and install’. I downloaded it anyway. I then ran a virus scan against that file (I have a known good virus scanning station.. transferred the file to a thumb drive.)

    The file (a zip file) is clean. Yes, clean. I then installed this latest driver and….

    My wireless card driver is now updated and thus far I have NOT lost my network connection. I have had a steady connection for 45 minutes now.

    Previously I was lucky if it held for 3 minutes.

    Anyway.. here is the address to the website where I found the driver. Use this at your own risk! Run a virus scan on the file… however, I will say it installed perfectly, the driver is Atheros and it appears the be the latest driver I could find.

    http://www.atheros.cz/download.php?atheros=AR5007EG&system=1

    Enjoy the fix. Let me know if it works for you folks.

    subchaos@gmail.com

  7. Larry permalink
    April 6, 2009 2:43 pm

    My wireless problem was with the Bios. I had tried reinstalling the Atheros driver before, but that had not helped. Thanks a ton! Without wireless access the AA1 really isn’t worth much more than a dime.

  8. Alex S permalink
    April 12, 2009 4:28 pm

    I just bought Acer Aspire One 10.1 in today and it gave me same old wifi issue that all Acers have. well it took me two hours to go through all different issues known about Atheros 5007 Wireless Drivers none of them solved the connection issue. Wifi card finds all routers no problem and after connection shows strong 5 bar connection of 54mb but when try to ping any ip it fails. So I go to Acer website and download driver for Acer Aspire One 8.9in for same Wifi Card but older version I guess it is “WLAN_Atheros_v7.6.0.224″ version new 10.1 comes with “08_WLAN_Atheros_XB63_T60H976.11_7.6.0.260_WHQL”, so I loaded older one from 8.9in netbook version .224 and it worked no more issues with Wifi but it is pain in the ass with Acer. only good thing is that you will save $50 bucks against other models of netbooks like Dell… etc, but you will deffinetly vaste few hours of your precious time that probably worth more then fifty bucks. Well good luck just load older version of Atheros 5007 driver and it will work for 10.1in netbook i recommend “WLAN Atheros_v7.6.0.224″ from Acer site search for Aspire One 8.9in not 10.1 they both have same Wifi card just like MIKE D said in above post

  9. Don Turrell permalink
    April 19, 2009 5:53 am

    I rcvr’d my Aspire 10.1 several days ago (using it to post this message) and after an hour of “on again off again” frustrating use because the wireless kept disconnecting I was thinking this baby needs to go back to the seller. It was simply unacceptable to use.

    I saw the comments above about changing the power saving setting from max to off and backing up to an earlier driver on the wireless (224). I did both and all seems to be working (not sure which change was the fix)….the wireless connection hangs in there just fine.

    I am a little concerned that the fix to this unacceptable operation was ultimately this simple…….but hey no complaints…..

    Thanks to those on this blog for the assist.

    Don

  10. MIke permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:08 am

    I also had the wireless connectivity issue and have now reset the power saver to off. So far that seems to have worked but I still have an issue. Even when I am connected to my wireless router if I do a search for wireless networks I get the message that there are no wireless net works available. This is WHILE I’M CONNECTED TO MY SECURE WIRELESS NETWORK WTF?

  11. November 23, 2010 12:00 am

    wireless routers are very necessary nowadays because we do not want so many wires running around the home ~,`

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

